Looking Back at 2015

As we near the end of another year, I’m again reflecting back and forecasting the future. This is usually a time of rueful regret and desperate hope for me; regret that I didn’t achieve the goals I’d set for myself this year and a desperate hope that next year will be better.

This year I’m neither ruefully regretful nor desperately hopeful. And that’s a good thing.

If you’ve been following along with this blog you’ll know that I found a new writing methodology, a discipline if you will, that has allowed me to quadruple my output. Four months in and not a sign of letting up, I’m now producing at a rate of six novels per year.

You’re going to see a lot more books coming your way from me next year. Mostly that’s because I’m now more disciplined with my writing, but also because I’m going to forego rewriting in 2016.

What exactly is “rewriting”? For you writers out there, I’m following Dean Wesley Smith’s advice on rewriting. For you readers out there who don’t care about that, don’t worry. Just know that it means I’ll be able to produce much more quickly and that the books should, in theory, be better because of it.

Despite spending the first half of 2015 stuck in the mud, I still produced quite a bit of work this year. I finished a bunch of open projects, I wrote a new crime novella and a new Mothman-inspired horror novel. I’m currently halfway through writing a “weird western” novel (western meets horror) and while that won’t be completed in 2015 it’ll be finished by the end of January 2016.

Speaking of the Badlands trilogy…book #3, Out of the Badlands, is finished! Yay! It will go off to my editor in January, publishing (tentatively) late March. Once I get a solid date from my editor I’ll put up a preorder page and send out an email to my mailing list. So get on that list if you’re not already.

In additional to Badlands #3, 2016 will see publication of my Mothman horror novel (titled It Came From the Mountain) along with that weird western, tentatively titled The Saint, the Sinner and the Coward.

After that, I’m not entirely sure what’s next. I might just have another zombie book in me. I swore I wouldn’t do another one unless I had a unique story to tell. Well, I think I have one. If it survives the outlining process then I might start on that one in February. We’ll see. I’ll send out a spring newsletter to keep you in the loop regardless.

What’s the future look like? Pretty damn bright right now. I’m loving writing, loving the idea of not having to rewrite and looking forward to publishing as many as six books next year. If you like my work then hopefully you’re looking forward to reading them. Win-win, eh?

In the meantime, you can preorder my crime novella right now, titled Yesterday In Black, from Amazon, Kobo, Apple and Smashwords. It comes out on December 15th everywhere, including Barnes & Noble (sorry, their system won’t handle preorders yet). Check out my other stuff here and don’t be shy about telling all your friends. 😉

Until next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

