More on KDP Select

I’ve been mulling over KDP Select pretty hard the last couple of months. As I mentioned in the last post, I moved all my non-Badlands titles into Select to test it out.

Today I opted in my Badlands books.

Why, after all I said about Kobo sales increasing and non-Amazon markets making up 35% of my sales? Well, for starters I’m curious about a few things.

How might Kindle Unlimited perform for me? Might it hook new readers who want to try me risk free? KOLL borrows used to be pretty good for me, so maybe there’s still potential there.

Also, how might free work for me now in 2014? I had mixed results in 2012 when I did free runs, but I definitely sold more books overall.

Kindle Countdown deals? Do they work?

And the tough question that’s hard to prove…does simply being in Select give my book more visibility? Will I see sales increase across the board? Will I show up in more also-boughts?

I don’t know the answers to these questions. The only way to find out is to opt in and see what happens.

Select requires 90 days of exclusivity. That puts me eligible to opt out around the end of December. Badlands #3 won’t be out until January or February, so if Select turns out to be a crappy decision I have time to opt out before book #3 comes out. Readers who bought into the series on other devices won’t be affected.

In other words, now’s the window I needed to get my questions answered. If I wait, I’ll have to make some tough decisions around my best-selling series.

But what if Select works wonders for me? Will I keep all my books opted in? I don’t know. Will that piss off readers on other platforms? Possibly. But I’ll say this…if you started my Badlands series outside Amazon and want to finish it on your preferred reader and can’t, contact me. We’ll work something out. I wouldn’t be allowed to sell you the books, but that doesn’t rule out review copies.

I have a few promotions scheduled, staggered over the next 90 days. Two free givaways and two Countdown Deals. Not sure what I’ll do with the Badlands books yet. I’m considering a free giveaway on book #1 and a Coundown Deal on book #2, right before the pre-order page for book #3 goes live (which would be at 40% regular price). That could really build momentum around the series.

For now I’m seeing no borrows for any books after being in there for less than a week. Sales are slightly up, but not so much that I can correlate it with opting in to Select. Could just be normal fluctuations. I’m currently running a free giveaway right now on one of my short stories. That did pretty well on the first day, but fell off a cliff by day two. I think I’ve given away maybe 85 copies so far.

While it might seem that that I’m all over the place, there really is a method to the madness. Having the guts to change course is a strength often downplayed by political talking heads as ‘waffling’. I don’t listen to those assholes. It doesn’t take a genius to see that if you keep doing the same thing you’re going to keep getting the same thing. I’d rather be doing something than sitting back and just letting things happen to me.

We’ll see how it goes. I’m cautiously optimistic.

4 thoughts on “More on KDP Select

  1. TAWilliams September 25, 2014 / 5:25 pm

    Wow! Congrats & good luck with the big decision!
    Your logic is sound though and I can understand wanting to give it a try. With KU being rolled out into the UK it’s probably only going to expand from there so the market should continue to grow with that.

    If you decide to do a free giveaway with book 1 of Badlands let me know & I’ll do what I can to get the word out!

    Very interested to see how this works out for you & good luck!

    • Brian J. Jarrett September 25, 2014 / 5:39 pm

      I heard about KU in the UK (say that five times!). I used to make a lot of money in the UK, but sales dropped off there in a major way around the beginning of last year. Maybe KU will make them viable for me again.

      I’ll definitely keep you in the loop on any deals I offer on the Badlands books. I’m really looking to generate some interest again with book #3 on the horizon. Hopefully I can do that with Select.

      Thanks and take care.

  2. mudpilewood September 28, 2014 / 10:57 am

    You are not the only blogger/author wondering about how to make the most of promotions and how to get the sales numbers clicking up upwards. I applaud your courage in changing and agree with all you have said, truth is time will give us the answers to all of our questions if we are willing to wait.

  3. Brian J. Jarrett September 28, 2014 / 11:25 am

    Time will tell, indeed. I’m committed to 90 days, so now it’s just waiting to see the results.

    Take it easy.

Leave a Reply

