THE CROSSOVER GENE Available for Pre-order

Amazon opened up pre-orders to indies just as I had a new release coming. I figured it was a perfect time to test it out.

So, if you’d like to save 40% and pick up my new book for $2.99 then you can pre-order it here. The book will be released on October 10th, 2014. After that, it’ll go back to $4.99.

I opted in for KDP Select, so it’ll be exclusive to Amazon for 90 days after the release date. After that, I’ll put it out on Kobo, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and Apple.

I notified my mailing list two days in advance. As of today, out of 64 people emailed, 36 opened the email and 10 clicked the link. So that’s a 56% open rate and a 15% click rate. Seems underwhelming at first, but apparently it’s better than the industry average (17% and 3.6%, respectively). So there’s that.

As of this morning, I had 5 pre-orders. That tells me that I have a 50% conversion rate from the email (10 clicks, 5 purchases). It’s a good rate, but I just need a bigger mailing list!

I just blasted this out on Facebook and Twitter, so I’ll be watching the pre-order count to see if it goes up. I’ll update again as things progress.

Leave a Reply

