Final Push – Day 22 (Last Day)

typewriter_keysIt’s finished.

I got up relatively early this morning and just knocked it out. I tackled that fight scene first off, getting it finally down on the the page. The scene as a whole sucks, but it’s the first draft. By the time I get back around to it for the next draft, my head will be in a different place and I’ll have better perspective.

I wrote the “cigarette moment” scenes where the aftermath of the final battle is played out. Those scenes turned out really nicely. I don’t think they’ll require much rewriting.

I left the book somewhat open-ended so that if I want to write a sequel some day I can. Don’t worry, the primary story arc is complete and the protagonist’s character arc is also complete. Readers will feel a sense of closure, but the possibility of a new adventure with the survivors is still an option. I’m really happy with how it turned out.

I wrote 1,855 words today, bringing the grand total of the manuscript to 70,830. Just about where I expected. With rewrites it’ll probably grow another couple thousand words or so.

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 12.37.22 PM

 

I always love this part where the manuscript’s first draft is finished. It really does provide a sense of satisfaction. But immediately I think of how much work it’ll be to to the revisions. The only difference with this book is that I’ve already done subsequent revisions of two-thirds of the text after dusting it off and resurrecting it. With so much work already done, it’s likely to only take me a month or so on the revisions. We’ll see.

As for today? I’ll probably take the rest of the day off, maybe even the weekend. Come Monday, for sure, I’ll be back to the grind. Probably working on Badlands #3.

I hope you enjoyed this little series of posts. With any luck, chronicling the experience proved helpful to you.

Now get back to work on that book! It’s not gonna write itself. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Final Push – Day 22 (Last Day)

  1. TAWilliams May 31, 2014 / 5:22 pm

    I love the feeling of finishing the 1st draft but much like yourself the realization that editing is on the horizon fills me with dread. It’s worth it in the end but its a tough hill to climb!

    • Brian J. Jarrett May 31, 2014 / 11:26 pm

      It’s a lot of work, but it provides a real sense of satisfaction seeing that finished book out there. Hopefully it will be available by the end of summer, depending on how fast the editing goes!

      Take it easy,
      Brian

  2. michellejoycebond June 6, 2014 / 9:10 pm

    Love that feeling, too! Hoping to achieve it by the end of the summer…so I’d better stop blogging and get to it. 🙂

    • Brian J. Jarrett June 9, 2014 / 9:22 pm

      Summer will be over before we know it! I’m racing against the same clock. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

