Final Push – Day 18

typewriter_keysAfter four days away from my day job, I’m back to the grind today. I did manage to squeeze in 796 words, more than my quota (if the manuscript does indeed end up being 70k words). Problem is that at this point I can’t know for sure exactly how long it’ll be. I could find there’s more story there and end up running past my due date.

But I’m not going to worry too much about that. I’m on schedule and on track to complete 70k words by 5/31. If that isn’t enough to finish out the story, then we’re looking at only a couple of extra days. That’s not really a concern. When a project runs two or three months long (like Beyond the Badlands did) then it becomes a concern.

The manuscript sits at 67,626 words. My biggest struggle right now is figuring out just how long the final scenes should be. I have a fight going on between the protagonist and the antagonist; I want the scene to be long enough so that it’s satisfying to readers who’ve stuck with the story, but I don’t want to go on too long and bore people. We’ve all seen those car chases that just go on and on.

I also have a subplot with another character that’s wrapping up too. The challenge there is to resolve her situation without taking too much attention away from the main storyline.

I’m going to take a stab at it and use my gut. After that, I’ll be relying on the beta readers to tell me whether or not I accomplished what I set out to do. Luckily with Scrivener I can rearrange scenes with a simple drag and drop if the betas have viable ideas about altering the story’s pacing. I’ve been using mostly the same people for the past few years and they do a great job of telling me when I’ve gotten it right (or wrong).

I have an offsite lunch today, so no writing over the lunch break. I should be able to hit the quota tonight though (it currently sits at around 700 words). Really looking forward to wrapping this thing up.

Leave a Reply

