Final Push – Day 17

A spectacular day for productivity. I woke up with terrible pain in my jaw (apparently I grind my teeth in my sleep which really fires up my TMJ), so I downed a few ibuprofen before getting to work on the manuscript. I knocked out around 1,200 words before taking a break.

I enjoyed my day off work (the day job, at least), spending some time with the kids before lying down for a nap. Unfortunately I ended up sleeping more than two hours; not what I’d planned. By the time I got up it was dinner time, so we ordered pizza and I wrote a little more.

After dinner we got the kids in the bath and then off with their Kindles for some reading time. My wife wasn’t feeling well, so she ended up going to bed really early, around 8:00 pm. I used that time to push onward and really make some progress.

Remember yesterday when I said my goal for today was 3,000 words? Well, here’s the proof:

Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 12.53.15 AM

Initially, I hit 2,800 words and wanted to stop, but then when I saw how close I was I just had to keep going. Ended up going over a little in the end. I’ll take it.

The novel sits at nearly 67,000 words right now. I’m in the final scenes, the big fight at the end, which I’m sure is going to take a couple thousand more words to finish. And another character is fighting to survive. Then the “cigarette moment” after the climax, which will add some more. So it’s looking more like 72k in all, before rewrites. I’m fine with that.

I couldn’t be happier with the progress I’ve made today. I’ve been having fun with it too. The story’s really ramping up and I’ve been outlining as I go near the end. Some really spontaneous stuff has happened, which took me by surprise. I love it when that happens.

I started this story back in November of 2012 for NaNoWriMo and made it 5ok before stopping. So it’s been sitting there ever since, waiting patiently for me to come back to it. It’s really cool seeing it so close to completion. I can’t wait to bring it over the finish line.

By my estimates, I still have around 3-5k words left to finish this thing out. I have five days left before my deadline, so that puts my daily word quota at maybe 1k or less per day. That’s doable. Looks like I might hit 5/31 after all.

Leave a Reply

