Being Realistic

I’m gonna make this one short. I’ve been doing a fair amount of analysis when it comes to my production schedule and my free time. The short version is that I’m finding that my spare time is pretty limited. With a full-time programming gig, a wife and two kids, I’m pretty well squeezed for time.

So the pattern I’ve found is that it typically takes me about nine months to finish a book, give or take. That’s been pretty consistent over the past couple of years, no matter how much I wish it was faster. Hey, it is what it is.

I apologize in advance for not being able to keep up with the voracity of my readers’ appetite, but the good news is that there are so many books available now that there’s PLENTY to read in the meantime. So while you’re waiting for my next book, check out these folks. I think you’ll love their work. I know I do.

I’m sure I’ll add more of these in due time. (I’d add Stephen King, but everybody alive knows who he is).

If you want to hear about my new releases when they become available, sign up for my mailing list here.

Until then, take care and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Being Realistic

  1. Kimberly Raiser May 11, 2014 / 11:11 pm

    I know what you mean! And I am a huge Konrath and Crouch fan!!! The best of the best!!!! Including you of course!!! I find it hard to focus. And I have to have total silence when I write. It’s not easy for me. Guys like John Everson make me crazy. He sits in pubs and writes his novels! Maybe it’s the altered state of consciousness that helps!

    • Brian J. Jarrett May 12, 2014 / 1:09 am

      Hi Kimberly,

      Thanks so much for the kind words! Speaking of focus; I don’t think I could write in bars or coffee shops. I’m too awkward in public…it always feels like everyone is staring at me. Normally I close the office doors and turn on some music when I write…helps to drown out the kids’ chatter. 🙂 It’s better if I can carve out an hour to get my word count, but most days I’m writing in fifteen minute chunks here and there. It’s not ideal, but rarely is life perfect.

      Thanks for dropping a line. Take care.

      Brian

Leave a Reply

