2013 End-of-Year Update

It’s 4:00 in the morning here and I’ve just gotten my son cleaned up after a stomach bug caused him to puke in his bed. He’s resting now, but I’m waiting to make sure he’s not going to go right back and barf all over himself again. Naturally I thought this would be a good time for an update on where things are right now.

As we roll into November, I’ve decided not to do NaNoWriMo this year. Mostly because I thought it better to instead spend that time revising the novel I started for last year’s NaNoWriMo. That book is called The Crossover Gene and is my first sci-fi thriller. Revisions are going well, albeit a little slow these days with all the time I spend helping my eight year old with his mountain of homework.

I’m pretty excited about this book. I think folks who like my other work would like this book too, so I’ve decided to publish it under my own name rather than a pseudonym. Despite its sci-fi bend, the book is a thriller at its core. Pretty much the same as my other work.

Speaking of other work, Beyond the Badlands is still with my editor. I’m hoping to get it back next week, after which I’ll incorporate the changes and get the book to my proofreader. After that, I’ll fix any errors, read the book one more time and then publish. I’m shooting for a late-November release, if possible. As always, sign up for my mailing list to be the first to know when the book is available.

Plans are now to finish the first draft of The Crossover Gene early next year and then put it away for a while. While it’s simmering on the back burner, I’ll begin work on Badlands book three, tentatively titled Revenge in the Badlands. So far I’ve sketched out a partial outline for the book. I’m not entirely sure when either book will be available, but know that I’m actively working on them. I’ll will say this; I don’t plan on letting two years pass before I release book three in the Badlands series.

In reading news, a writer friend of mine named Keith C. Blackmore recently turned me on to a new writer by the name of Tim Curran. I picked up a copy of Skull Moon earlier this week and I’m loving it so far. If you dig monsters, gunslingers and Indian folklore then this book might just be for you.

I also finished the last book in the Lockman Chronicles series by Rob Cornell. An action-packed mashup of werewolves, vampires, ogres, ghosts and monsters of all kinds. I really dug these books. You can pick up book one of the series here.

That’s about all for now. Time to go move the kiddo to his own bed and get some sleep myself.

Good night.

Leave a Reply

