What’s the Hold Up?

So it’s no secret now that Beyond the Badlands, the sequel to my debut novel Into the Badlands, is behind schedule. Here’s a little insight as to why I’m in this particular boat.

First off, the book ran long. I was shooting for 90,000 words, but the first draft ended up clocking in around 114,000. That added another month. After the beta readers finished the book I found that I needed to tweak, expand or (in some cases) completely rewrite sections of the book. Fleshing that stuff out added several weeks to the mix.

The nice weather caused delays. Last year we suffered through two months straight of over 100 degree days. This year we hung in the 70 to 80 degree range. My family and I ended up doing a lot more together outside the house. This was great from a family perspective, but it without a doubt caused a slowdown in the progress of the book.

And beyond all that, the first draft was in many cases pretty damn terrible. Lots of over-writing, lots of superfluous and repetitive descriptions, more telling than showing. Some aspects of the plot were sketchy since I was still trying to pin down where I wanted the story to go. In the rewrites over the past couple of months I’ve had to rewrite entire chapters. Slow work.

The day job, the income stream that keeps the lights on and the mortgage paid, has been in high gear this year. We’re working on a big project and that’s been sapping my energy. I’m spent when I get home, falling asleep behind the keyboard on more than one occasion. That puts a dent in forward progress.

And lastly, I’ve been working on this book since December of last year. So that’s nine months so far. I got to a point where I just couldn’t look at it anymore. I’m sure I dragged my feet for a while because I just couldn’t bear the sight of it.

That’s pretty much it. I’m not bitching, just explaining. I figure folks don’t really get to see much of the behind-the-scenes stuff related to the writing of novels, providing me an opportunity to show how alike we all are. There’s no “writer’s block” here, just time constraints and other real-world hindrances.

When’s it coming out? That’s a tough call. I’m 50% through the rewrites now. I figure a couple more months and then editing, proofing, etc. I’m confident that it’ll be before Christmas, unless something comes at me outta left field. I REALLY need to hit Christmas. I can’t afford to miss that.

So thanks for hanging in there. Sign up for the mailing list if you want to be notified the moment it’s available. Until then, take care.

Leave a Reply

