NaNoWriMo 2012 Progress: Day 29

Winner-180x180Thirty days.

Fifty thousand words.

I did it.

Final word count: 50,326

I learned a few things from this experience. First, seventeen-hundred words a day is a bit much for me as a full-time programmer, husband, dad and part-time writer. A thousand words per day is a much more realistic goal. That said, a thousands words a day doesn’t seem so bad anymore. As a matter of fact, it’s a cake walk after this lesson in brutality.

A thousand words a day for ninety days gives me a ninety-thousand word manuscript in three months. That’s a decent-sized novel. Add three months of rewrites and editing in and there’s a novel finished in six months. That’s pretty good progress, as far as I’m concerned.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll only write a thousand words. After all, I could use a little break. 🙂

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012 Progress: Day 29

  1. elappleby November 30, 2012 / 5:08 am

    Congrats on your win! Love your optimism (first draft in 3 months, finished product in 6) I’ll pop by in 6 months and see how you’re getting on 🙂

  2. glenkrisch December 3, 2012 / 6:24 am

    Nice! I wish my schedule would allow for me to take part in Nano. As it is, I only have four writing days a week.

    • Brian J. Jarrett December 3, 2012 / 6:45 am

      It’s tough squeezing it in. Being a full-time programmer, father of two and a husband takes up a lot of my time. Fortunately I was able to pull out a few marathon sessions of writing to help bolster my word count. Other times it was fifteen minutes here, fifteen minutes there. Maybe I’d produce one or two hundred words, tops. What I found though is that those hundred or two hundred words quickly added up to thousands over the month. Of course it reads like crap because it hasn’t been revised or edited yet, but you know what they say: you can’t edit a blank page.

      I can’t always write every day, but I write every day that I can. Eventually that becomes a novel.

      And good luck on your new projects. Branching out into new genres is a good way to diversify your readership. It also keeps the writing fun.

      Take it easy,
      Brian

Leave a Reply

