NaNoWriMo 2012 Progress: Day 23

I just passed day 23 of the National Novel Writing Month challenge. So far I’ve written 30,034 words of my sci-fi thriller The Crossover Gene. That works out to an average of around 1,300 words per day. Unfortunately that average won’t get me to 50,000 words by the end of November, but the upside is that it’s 300 words per day more than my normal quota of 1,000 words per day. Considering my work, home and family obligations, I’m pretty damn happy to hit 30,000 so quickly. At this rate, although I won’t make November 30th, I will finish my 50,000 words around December 8th (unless I can break out some marathon sessions over the following week).

When completed, The Crossover Gene is going to weigh in around 100,000 words. So already, in only 23 days, I’m nearly 1/3 of the way finished with the first draft. Of course there’s a long way to go still, but that’s pretty good progress.

What I’m most happy about is that I’ve pushed myself to produce consistently. I’ve exceeded the limit I thought I was capable of and I’ve made significant progress as a result. The secret is that I’m not typing faster, I’m typing more consistently. And that’s how books get written.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012 Progress: Day 23

  1. Jobekka November 24, 2012 / 3:51 pm

    This is my first time at this site. I passed 50K on Day 14 at 4:20 PM and kept going. Am within a day or two of completing my novel, INTIMATE STRANGERS. Grand total to this minute is 65,806 on Day 23. I predict will be 80- 90,000 depending on how much I rework it. In the meantime, of course, I’ll send it in as is although I have to admit I’ve been tweaking it as I go along. First time I’ve ever watched word count as I wrote. Quite an experience.
    Jobekka

    • Brian J. Jarrett November 24, 2012 / 4:13 pm

      That’s incredible progress. Congratulations! I usually watch word count, but typically on a project basis. This is the first time I’ve really focused on daily word count. It’s really made a difference.

      Once your manuscript is revised, are you planning on self-publishing it or shopping it to a traditional publisher through an agent?

Leave a Reply

