NaNoWriMo 2012 Progress: Day 11

For anyone interested, I’m taking part this year in NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. I have a few friends who’ve been talking about writing novels for some time now, so after a few too many Miller High Lifes at a July 4th party, I put the NaNoWriMo challenge out there. They accepted and, well, here we are.

I’ve put Beyond the Badlands, the sequel to my debut novel Into the Badlands, temporarily on hold while I work on another novel for NaNoWriMo. The new book is called The Crossover Gene and it’s based on a premise I came up with summer before last. I’m making decent progress on The Crossover Gene, averaging around 1,300 words per day. I’m still a little behind (something I plan to rectify tonight), but I think I might actually hit 50k words by November 30th. Of course the novel will ultimately clock in around 100k words, but this gets me halfway there. I might even take December and just finish up the first draft.

Folks who are waiting on Beyond the Badlands need not fret; I’m still on schedule to release by this coming summer. I’ll get back to the sequel in January and I won’t stop until it’s finished. I’m 14k words into it already, so I’m part-way there.

What’s really cool is that with The Crossover Gene‘s first draft completed by the end of 2012, it means that I’ll have two novels coming out next year. And for that I’m super excited.

Leave a Reply

