One Year In

Nearly one year ago (actually about 358 days) I published my debut novel, Into the Badlands. I started out with the modest expectation that I’d sell 50 copies in the first year. I set a goal of selling 100 copies in the first year, though I found that a stretch.

One year in, Into the Badlands has sold over 5,000 copies.

To say I’m surprised would be the understatement of the year. I’m still flabbergasted by this brilliant stroke of timing and luck. It’s changed my life. I’m living a dream I never thought possible.

I’ve sold over 5,400 books including my short story collection and my newest novel, The Desolate, which has been on sale for about a month or so. I’m overwhelmed with the knowledge that so many readers have taken a chance on me. It’s more than I could have ever hoped for.

I’ve had over 200 books borrowed by Amazon Prime members. While these readers did not pay cash for the book, they did cash in their free borrow, which has value. I’m flattered that these readers felt my work was worth their while.

I don’t typically give books away, but have done it as an experiment. I gave away over 1,300 copies of Into the Badlands and nearly 800 copies of Walking At Night (my short story collection).

Adding all that up, nearly 8,000 readers have my work on their eReaders.

That’s absolutely incredible.

So what will the next year bring?

Next year we’ll see the sequel to Into the Badlands published. If I stick to my NaNoWriMo challenge I’ll publish another novel in 2013. I also sincerely hope that Badlands continues reaching readers. I hope that I can reach more horror readers with The Desolate.

I’ll also continue blogging here, which is something I really enjoy. I’ll be taking a short hiatus, possibly until the end of the year, so that I can focus on completing my next two novels. I might pop in from time to time with a post or two though. It’s hard to stay away.

One year in I’ve attained success beyond my wildest dreams. I’ve also met some great people and I’ve learned so much about the craft of story writing.

Next year I think will be even better.

2 thoughts on “One Year In

  1. Linda Vernon September 5, 2012 / 5:18 pm

    Congratulations! I’ll have to check out your books!

    • Brian J. Jarrett September 5, 2012 / 5:59 pm

      Thanks! It’s been a good year, that’s for sure. Should you end up picking up one of my books, I hope you enjoy it.

      Take care,
      Brian

Leave a Reply

