NaNoWriMo 2012

So after having failed miserably at my goal of writing my 20k word novella in six days, I decided to take on another challenge: NaNoWriMo 2012.

After a few too many beers at a July 4th party I put the challenge out to a couple friends who have been expressing an interest in finally getting that novel written. The challenge was accepted and there were witnesses, so it looks like there’s no weaseling out of it.

Although I did fail at my 20k words in six days challenge, I have finished 14k words of my novella’s first draft (which is 70%). I should be finished by month’s end and that includes all revisions.

Our challenge is 75k words, give or take 5k words either way. So if I fall right in the middle that’s an average of 2500 words a day to reach my goal. I can write about 1000 words per hour, so that’s 2.5 hours per day. Honestly, that seems doable, because I do have a pretty strong work ethic and I do write every day.

So while this will definitely be a challenge (and will pull me a way from another novel project for a month) it’ll be pretty nice coming out of the end of November with a finished 1st draft manuscript. Not to mention this is a story I’ve been mulling over since last summer. Provided I reach my goal I’d actually be able to publish two books in 2013 and that’s worth pushing myself a little.

Leave a Reply

