A Little Too Challenging?

So maybe the writing challenge I created and signed myself up for was a little too challenging. My goal was to write 20,000 words in six days, but I fell short of that goal by 9,000 words.

I don’t want to use the word fail because that’s not what happened. I still have over 50% of the novella manuscript finished (first draft) and the book will be released this fall, of this I have no doubt. The overall effort isn’t a failure, but I did fall short of my goal.

It’s not that I’m lazy; in fact, I work too many hours. Between my full-time job, my wife, my kids, my responsibilities around the house, and my writing it’s not unusual at all for me to put in 18 to 20 hour days. Admittedly I’m a bit of a workaholic, but most people who are driven share this trait.

Will I issue myself another writing challenge? Sure, but I think I’ll be a little more realistic next time. Still, the challenge did force me to work my ass off, resulting in some serious progress (and leaving me with nothing on which to sit 🙂 ). To that end, the challenge was a success. Besides, I’m supposed to be working on my next novel right now, so the faster I get this project finished the sooner I can get to work on the novel.

By the way, here’s the project I’m working on. Target release date is October 1st, 2012. I’m happy with the way it’s shaping up so far and looking forward to getting it out there for general consumption.

Leave a Reply

