My 2012 Reading Has Been Almost All Self-Published

Now that I finished the manuscript for my latest novel, I’ve had some time to sit around and just think. As I did it occurred to me that since I bought my Kindle Touch this past Christmas I’ve read almost nothing but self-published books.

And you know what? They were all pretty damn awesome.

These books made me think. They were well-written, well-plotted, and well-edited. Let the dinosaurs bemoan the end of “quality” books all they want because they’re full of crap. Good self-published books are real.

Early in the year I read a collection of short horror stories called Fetal Bait Apocalypse by self-published horror writer Joel Arnold and had my mind pretty much blown. If you enjoyed Stephen King’s “Skeleton Crew” or “Night Shift” then you’ll love Arnold’s work. I followed this book up with his novel Northwoods Deep and I wasn’t disappointed.

Arnold is one of the best horror writers I’ve discovered since buying my Kindle. Seriously, he’s that good.

After that I moved on to a book called Darker Things, by self-published writer Rob Cornell. This book comes on strong and weaves ghosts, vampires, werewolves, and other traditional monsters together in a way that’s unique, creative and entertaining (and no, they don’t sparkle).

I love post-apocalyptic and I loved The Old Man and the Wasteland by Nick Cole. It’s short, but sweet. (Looks like Cole might have signed a deal with Harper-Collins since I read the self-published version of his book.)

Staying in the realm of the post-apocalyptic, Wayne Wightman’s Selection Event was a pretty good read. Paranoid, right-wing, ultra-conservatives might not enjoy it, but it held my interest and caused me to think.

And who hasn’t heard of Hugh Howey’s Wool series? Especially after selling the movie rights to Ridley Scott. Sci-fi with incredible character development. Killer prose too.

I’m not completely through this one, but Dirty Work by Michael Lamendola has really turned out to be an entertaining and hilarious ride. I didn’t even know I liked this kind of book before stumbling across it. I’m hooked now.

I’m also into zombie horror, provided it’s done well. This is exactly what Keith Blackmore has done. His Mountain Man tells the story of Gus and Scott as they battle the undead in Canada. Mountain Man is thoroughly entertaining and the second book in the trilogy, Safari, has also proven to be just as gripping so far. Not your typical zombie book.

I could go on, but this list is a great start. Pick up one of these books today! I even provided links! Go!

2 thoughts on “My 2012 Reading Has Been Almost All Self-Published

  1. poetryofamadman June 15, 2012 / 4:01 am

    Downloading the preview for Fetal Bait Apocalypse and see if I want to read more. Thanks for posting. Indies need all the help they (we) can get.

    • Brian June 15, 2012 / 7:46 am

      Very cool! I’m a horror fan from way back and Arnold’s writing reminds me of why I started reading the genre in the first place. There’s some really creative stuff in there and since Fetal Bait Apocalypse is actually three collections in one it’s a lot of story for the money. Hope you enjoy it.

      Brian

Leave a Reply

