Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Into the Badlands is succeeding far beyond my wildest dreams. Of course I wanted it to do well, but I also want to win the lottery when I play. I don’t ever expect to actually win anything.

Here’s a screen shot of today’s rankings:

The book broke the 3000 mark in the entire Kindle paid store for the first time ever today, reaching #2,819 out of more than 750,000 paid titles. It also remains for more than two weeks in the top 100 Psychological Thrillers bestsellers category, reaching a new record of #59.

To make this even better, the book has also broken into the top 100 Kindle Horror bestsellers and the top 100 Horror bestsellers overall (including non-Kindle releases). It’s done this before on one or two occasions, but #79 and #90 (respectively) are all-time highs.

This means that I’m sharing the top 100 Horror list with some of the authors I most read and respect. Want to see something mind-blowing?

That’s the Stephen King. I’ve read nearly everything King has published. He is the author who got me hooked on horror. His books have provided me with countless hours of enjoyment. I have a tremendous amount of respect for King. Without Stephen King, I probably would never have written a book in the first place. Now I’m snuggled up beside him in this list. Surreal. Absolutely unbelievable.

Here’s another unbelievable image (top 100 Psychological Thrillers):

Into the Badlands has sold 1,265 copies since September 3, 2011. It’s currently averaging 32 copies per day. It’s also received 14 reviews so far, averaging a 4.8 out of 5 stars. Readers seem genuinely pleased with the book and I couldn’t be happier about that. If January sales hold out, I stand to reach 1,600 copies sold by the end of this month.

And to think I expected to sell maybe 50 copies of this book over the rest of my life. It’s selling more than that every two days now.

What’s next? A new horror novel this summer and the sequel to Into the Badlands this fall. With the momentum this book is gaining, I can’t afford to rest.

Will this continue? I hope so. I hope it gets even better. Even if it doesn’t, it’s exceeded my wildest dreams. I’m glad I took the chance on it. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

2 thoughts on “Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

  1. Pete Denton January 19, 2012 / 7:02 am

    Congratulations. That’s really good. I just stumbled across your blog so will have to check it out. Best of luck with your sales.

    • Brian January 19, 2012 / 7:08 am

      Thanks, Pete! Just followed your blog.

Leave a Reply

